Chemo, check.

image10Two weeks after my last chemo infusion I am starting to really feel the joy of being done as my strength and spirit are coming back.  Leaving my last treatment I’ll admit I wasn’t as excited as I thought I’d be to be done.  Leaving the infusion ward for the final time with my original gang from chemo number 1 was a surreal.  They were popping champagne and high-fiving, but I was a bit more apprehensive.  Perhaps it was because I knew I still had 5 shitty days ahead of me full of body aches, sleepless nights and a metallic taste in my mouth. Or, perhaps it was the bigger fear that this wasn’t really over.  Not only do I still have radiation around the corner and another surgery, but I have the fear that this may come back, in a much more dangerous place, for years to come.

Last week I dove back into being the old Bre; playing two soccer games, working on the house, pulling weeds, taking on new work projects and hosting a dinner party. It felt fucking great!  We have had a lot to be thankful for during the last couple months, seriously, a lot, but getting your ‘self’ back, that is something I never take for granted.  Speaking of being grateful, my support group, my tribe, my family and friends are the best a girl could ever ask for.  Thank you so much for the laughs, food, hangouts, crafts, cleanings, yoga, hugs, tears, ears, cards, flowers, walks, and love.  You are amazing and I would kill for each and every one of you!

yoga

 

image9image7image8

So what’s next?  I have April off from any treatments so true to form I’ve packed every weekend and most weeknights with fun; dinners with friends, a mommy & daddy mini vacation, soccer, Mariners games and a trip to Vegas to party relax the bestie.  May 2nd starts six and a half weeks of radiation treatments everyday, Monday through Friday. Other than the monotony of everyday, the radiation sounds easy to me.  Perhaps I’ll be eating my works in a month, but here’s to hoping it will be a breeze! 

Now a couple of the little man…God damn he’s cute!

image4 image1

About The Neuzel Project

Neuzel is the combination of Neuman and Benzel. Now that Casey and I have been married for 3 years, we could probably be the Neuman Project, but I still love the time we were the Neuzels so it will remain.
This entry was posted in Breast Cancer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chemo, check.

  1. Marilyn Grant says:

    You are so loved beautiful girl! Thank you so much for the “Bre style”updates! ❤️😘🎉

  2. Erin Statton says:

    Finally got caught up on the blog. So many emotions. SO proud of you. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

