Approaching Half Way

My first chemo infusion I came ready for battle.  I had my Fuck Cancer shirt on, I ate Dicks with abandon and repeated my mantra, ‘you got this’.  Number four is right around the corner and I’ve lost a little bit of my spunk.  I still repeat my mantra and flip the bird to cancer daily, but I can’t fathom ever eating another Dicks cheeseburger again and the mere thought of the infusion ward makes my mouth water with nausea.  I receive chemo every other Tuesday and the first week is typically filled with body aches, nausea, headaches and an overall feeling of ick.  The feel good week following I feel more like myself (just a tired version) and can almost get excited about another infusion because that means one more down.  I’m on a feel good week now and next Tuesday is half way, 4 out of 8 done!  In addition, it’s the end of the Adriamycin/Cytoxan cocktail.  The following 4 will be Taxol, which I hear isn’t quite as bad….we’ll see.

Two days after my second infusion, exactly when my oncologist said it would, my hair started falling out.  I could run my fingers through my hair and my and pull out handfuls.  Perhaps at a different time in my life or if I was going through this decades ago the hair loss would be an issue for me.  I think the empowering photos of bald confident women kicking breast cancers ass (and Charlize Theron in Mad Max) made the hair loss for me a non-issue.  I kind of like it.  Not that the buzz cut is staying or anything but I don’t feel ashamed or embarrassed of my new do at all.

The night of the shaving.  Face Timing with your best friend, as you do.
image1
Casey did a pretty good job!
image7
Someone else got a haircut too.  Unlike his Mom, he was pissed about it.
image5

About The Neuzel Project

Neuzel is the combination of Neuman and Benzel. Now that Casey and I have been married for 3 years, we could probably be the Neuman Project, but I still love the time we were the Neuzels so it will remain.
This entry was posted in Breast Cancer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Approaching Half Way

  1. zuger says:

    You’re the badass-est woman I know.

Leave a Reply

