One Down

First Chemo infusion and aftermath is in the books!  It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t good either.

image2

Dicks and chemo. 

The highlight of the day: When I met with my oncologist, I was greeted by a new nurse, Cathy.  She told me she had requested to be my nurse that day because she had something she wanted to share with me. Cathy put her hand on my shoulder and said, “I was also diagnosed with breast cancer when I was 34 years old and I had a small baby at home too.  That baby is now 23 years old and about to graduate from college.”  I instantly burst into tears, along with the entourage I had in the room.  As we continued to chat we also found out her daughter and I share the same birthday and I noticed Cathy and my mom were both wearing the exact same necklace, one I gave my mom on my wedding day.  It was a good start to the day!

Tears dried, the crew met with the oncologist, got labs and headed upstairs to the infusion ward.  It’s pretty much how I’d imagined, a big chair and lots of tubes going into me.  The infusion took about 2 ½ hours.  We ate some Dicks, laughed about my really quirky infusion nurse and asked a ton of questions.

image4

All the way since 3rd grade!

image5

All the way from Vegas to keep me company!

image6

The Adriamycin going in.

image3

Nurse Ratchet

image8

My dad brought his fishing lures to work on. 

 

The days following went from shaky (from the steroids) to achy (from the Neulasta shot) to pukey (from the chemo) and after that I’ve just felt like I’ve have a hangover.  Something I’ve occasionally (:)) dealt with in the past so I can manage that.   Now I have a week off and we do it all over again……

 

I also got a new haircut!

image1

 

About The Neuzel Project

Neuzel is the combination of Neuman and Benzel. Now that Casey and I have been married for 3 years, we could probably be the Neuman Project, but I still love the time we were the Neuzels so it will remain.
This entry was posted in Breast Cancer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

