It’s a Boy!

Turns out I never got to that 40 week post where I’d complain about how over being pregnant I was.  At 38 weeks I was still perfectly content being pregnant and loved almost every minute of it.  Sure there were the aches and pains, but the smiles, kicks, and big round belly made up for that.

labor

Labor just started – 2/4

I joked with family, friends and co-workers that I was fine with our little surprise coming anytime after the Superbowl (even though the due date was 2/4).  I couldn’t handle the thought of missing the game and being in labor while trying to watch a football game could have been too much for even a die hard football fan.  So he obliged, staying in for the dominating victory the Seahawks had over the Denver Broncos.  All the screaming and jumping must have gotten him curious as to what all the fuss was on the outside though because the next evening while vacuuming the house my water broke.  In our birth class the teacher joked about women who mistakenly head to the hospital after peeing their pants thinking it was a water-breaking situation.  Having peed my pants on multiple occasions during this pregnancy I was a little hesitant to cry “my water broke!”  But this was extreme –  like down the leg, on the floor, fill the slippers water breaking situation.  Not the normal pregnant sneeze and pee the pants.  Just to be sure though, I had Casey smell it.  It was go time.

Casey was hilarious.  He jumped into action like the house was on fire and was extremely frustrated I didn’t yet have a bag packed.  I on the other hand grabbed my laptop and finished up some last minute work stuff.   We called the midwife and she told us what I expected, get some sleep because tomorrow could be an exciting day!  So, we went to bed.   The next day I still hadn’t felt any contractions so we headed out to power walk around the neighborhood.  By the time we got back I was feeling some mild contractions but nothing that would stop me from making my baby’s very first birthday cake!

DSC_0011

Happy Birthday little one!

Throughout the day the contractions picked up and by 3pm we were headed to the birth center.  Once we got there and I was checked out were were told to hit the road and take a walk.  I’m sure they had their reasons (like one more appointment for the day?)  but it was damn cold outside!  We only made it a quarter of a mile in 40 minutes and we were frozen solid, but it was a pretty hilarious walk thinking of the passerbyers witnessing this.

IMG_0639

Coping with contractions on Totem Lake Way

Once we were back in the warmth of the Birth Center we were checked in and ready for the long haul.  My birth squad included Kelly, my amazing friend and doula, Mom, Inga and of course Casey.  Everyone was incredible!  It must have been hard for all of them to see me in pain, but they remained calm and supportive through the entire labor which gave me the confidence to keep on going.

Going the natural route is something else.  I was clear headed though the entire process.  Even when I seemed completely out of my mind (I had some unusual chanting coping techniques) I can remember every stage of the labor.  I do recall thinking in the midst of labor – this is crazy, why would anyone voluntarily do this?  But being on the other side, I’m very glad I did it and would do it again in a heart beat.  My decision give birth naturally made me feel strong and proud being able to dig that deep within myself.   I’ll save all the gruesome details for anyone who wants to verbally hear it, but I’ll say you loose all modesty and humility while giving birth.  The people in that room saw some gross shit, but not one batted an eye.

After 12 hours of labor and 3 hours of pushing at 12:52 on February 5th,  I heard Casey yell IT’S A BOY!  They slid our little man with his enormous cone-head under my legs (I was on all fours) and I haven’t stopped staring at him since.  

image (6)

Happy Birthday Levi

At the birth center they  clean you up and send you on your way quickly.  We were home and sleeping in our own bed by 4am, a mere 3 hours later.  We waited a few days to name him, wanting to get to know him before we made a decision.  We decided Levi James Neuman fit him just perfectly!

image (4)

This is Levi’s milk drunk face.

About The Neuzel Project

Neuzel is the combination of Neuman and Benzel. Now that Casey and I have been married for 3 years, we could probably be the Neuman Project, but I still love the time we were the Neuzels so it will remain.
This entry was posted in Baby and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

