Let the showering begin!

Two weeks of showering at work and washing my hair in the kitchen sink has come to an end!  The Neuman’s have a shower and phase 2 of the bathroom is donezo!

Here’s where we started last weekend – adding the hardy board and sealing it up so we have NO LEAKY WALLS!

DSCN1784

Hardy Board backer

Let the tiling begin! I chose a 4″ x 15″ subway tile (you know I love it) with a glass tile band towards the top of the tub.  Unlike the kitchen subways, these were not self-leveling so I had to use the little X’s on every edge.

DSCN1787

Our tile system has Casey doing the cutting and me doing the laying.  The window in the shower worked perfectly since the saw was set up out back.  Sadly for Case, he had to stay outside int he 20 degree temperatures.

DSCN1785

And after 10 hours we were left with this!  I must say, I’m totally in love with it!  This is w/out the grout.  The mud had to sit for two days before I added the grout.

DSCN1792

DSCN1793Two days later, I postponed Downton Abbey to start in on the grout.  That’s how bad I wanted this done.  I postponed Downton Abbey!  The grout color is Bone from Tile for Less.  Tip for anyone starting in on this…wear latex gloves when grouting.  It made my hands so dry I could start a fire from rubbing them together.

DSCN1798

DSCN1801DSCN1803

And after multiple rubdowns to clean up the grout, we have this sparkly new shower!  We have one more day until we can seal it, then I’m taking the longest shower ever!  I should also post a picture of my leg hair after two weeks….but I’ll leave it to your imagination.

DSCN1804DSCN1808

Next up –

  • Mud and tape ceiling and walls now that the drywall is hung
  • Install floor – More tile, hell yeah!!! joking.
  • New sink, toilet, mirror and light
  • Install tongue and grove paneling on walls
About The Neuzel Project

Neuzel is the combination of Neuman and Benzel. Now that Casey and I have been married for 3 years, we could probably be the Neuman Project, but I still love the time we were the Neuzels so it will remain.
This entry was posted in House Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let the showering begin!

  1. suth2 says:

    That looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

