Chalkboard

(sorry for the crappy iPhone pics – I need a nice new camera.  Casey do you read this blog? Christmas is coming up…)

If you Pinterest, you’ll already know chalk boards are essential if you want to have a quirky, fun and laid back house.  That said, I needed to hop on the chalk train.  We also have an unfortunately placed breaker box in our kitchen so this project played double duty – chalkboard & ugly breaker box curtain.

I started out with finding these gems at the antique mall on 99 and 205th.  If you haven’t been there, it’s the upstairs of the Burlington Coat Factory, and it has a mother-load of junk that I could spend all day rummaging through.

Its hard to see the frames in the background since your eye stops at the cutest pooch ever.

I also bought magnetic paint (Rustolium roll on for both the magnetic and the chalkboard).  Magnetic paint – poop gravy.  It was 20 bucks (pretty pricey for a quart of paint, I believe), I followed all the instructions to a T, even doubled the coat recommendation, and while a magnet will kind of stay on the board, if you tried to adhere a feather it would come crashing down.

Had the man friend cut some partical board to fit into the frames for the chalk board.

Like I said before we had to hang them a little wonky because I was also trying to cover the horribly placed (and ironically magnetic) breaker box as shown below.

And the reason I was dying to put a rush on this project…I really wanted our Friendsgiving menu up for our big turkey dinner!

About The Neuzel Project

Neuzel is the combination of Neuman and Benzel. Now that Casey and I have been married for 3 years, we could probably be the Neuman Project, but I still love the time we were the Neuzels so it will remain.
This entry was posted in House Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chalkboard

  1. hangkost says:

    Tater tot casserole, huh? 🙂
    Love the chalkboards! Good job, Bre!

Leave a Reply

