Painting a Metal Bed

I brought home this doozie from a late night Craigslist rendezvous the other night and Casey said, and I quote, that is the ugliest bed I’ve ever seen in my life.

brass bed, paint

But I had a vision for this ugly brass piece of work.  And it all started with these pillows I made.  The fabric was all the inspiration!

Though I kind of dig the look of brass, this bed was pretty rusty and I really didn’t want to spend hours and hours buffing it out.   So spray paint it was.

Here are the steps to spray paint an old beat up brass or metal bed.

  1. Sand down the entire bed with a 220 grit sand paper.  Make sure all the little rusty bumps are out of it and every shiny place is roughed up a bit.
  2. Wash the entire bed with dish soap (any degreaser) and make sure it is thoroughly dry before hitting it with a primer.

    brass bed, paint

    Sanded and washed

  3. Primer: I used Rustolium grey primer.  Use a grey for any dark colors, and a white for any light colors.  When spray painting less is more.  I did 3 coats of just misting it.  Nothing screams nasty DIY project more than a shotty paint job!  Be patient, it will eventually get covered, no space should be completely covered on the first coat.

    brass bed, paint

    Primed with 3 coats of primer

  4. Paint: Used Rustolium, Red Wagon high gloss.  Same thing as the primer, but be even more patient.  The high gloss comes out fast and your first shot you can get a lot of paint on it.  Be extra careful to not get any drips.  There is no recovering from a big gloppy spray paint drip.

    brass bed, paint

    3 Coats of red high gloss

  5. I didn’t use any poly at the end, because I liked the gloss I got out of the spray paint.  From there, I attached it to the bed and loved my finished look!  
Side safety note: Even when your outside, WEAR A MASK.   I didn’t and my throat has been sore for 2 days and my boogers are still red.  Mom, sorry, I learned my lesson and I will be more safe next time!  
And another sidenote: Casey’s comments last night, yeah that looks pretty awesome.
Almost ready for guests now, just need some wall decor, curtains, side table and rug.  Easy!

About The Neuzel Project

Neuzel is the combination of Neuman and Benzel. Now that Casey and I have been married for 3 years, we could probably be the Neuman Project, but I still love the time we were the Neuzels so it will remain.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

