Snow Day Project

What did you guys do when your house looked like this and you had to “work from home” for 3 days?  Sledding?  Hit the slopes? Make a snowman?  Yeah, that all sounds like fun!  We installed a backsplash.  I don’t mean to sound wop wop about it, I loved it!  It was a project I could take the lead on.  Usually I’m just standing behind Casey handing tools or holding something.

If you forget what we started with – here is where the kitchen left off after the counter tops were installed.  We’ve been backsplash-less for about 2 months now…. We paid a little extra for self spacing tiles.  I highly recommend those!  Meaning you don’t have to put those little x spacers between every tile.  The self leveling have a 1/8 ridges on all sides that leave the grout space for you.  See below, even an idiot can do it!!

In the pic above you’ll notice my attempt to make shelves for that open space.  I didn’t end up liking them so they came down and I’m now on the hunt for floating shelves.  The corbels were a little to Hansel and Gretel for me.  On to the grout process…This was pretty easy as well, all you do is smear it in all the cracks with a grout float tool.  I chose a dark grey grout.  The tile shop guy gave me a side eye in choosing this, but I love the bold look of the lines.

So close to being a crack shot.  Thanks for the warning Case.

You can see in this photo, Casey also trimmed out the window.  It makes it feel so huge!  We still need to caulk, fill the holes and paint the trim, but I think we’re going to wait until we do the whole house and do it all at once.  That’s the next project.

So, that’s a Neuzel snow day!  Just a couple more things to check off the list and the kitchen is a complete room!!  For all pointers on how to do a backsplash, I recommend You Tube, that’s where I learned 🙂

  • Open shelves
  • Crown molding at the top of the cabinets
  • Door to the pantry
  • Paint window trim
About The Neuzel Project

Neuzel is the combination of Neuman and Benzel. Now that Casey and I have been married for 3 years, we could probably be the Neuman Project, but I still love the time we were the Neuzels so it will remain.
This entry was posted in House Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow Day Project

  1. Pingback: Let the showering begin! |

  2. Pingback: The kitchen is cooked! |

Leave a Reply

