The Chicken Project

Valentines Day of last year I wanted my gift from Casey to be chickens.  Come April I finally got to bring home these four beauties.  Ruby, Pearl, Little Black and Little Red (may she rest in peace)

Turns out, making a bad-ass chicken coop is way more expensive and time consuming than you would ever imagine.  I don’t think Casey is a fan of Valentines Day anymore.

Here’s how it begins, make a frame.  Easy enough right?  Sure, but don’t forget to stain all the boards first and also figure out all the dimensions.  We didn’t have any plans, Case just had to go with what was in my mind.  I’m a carpenters worst nightmare.

Building the coop is where I got my feet wet with power tools.  All fingers are still accounted for, so I’d say I’m pretty good at it.   Next slap on some plywood, a roof and build out some nesting boxes.  It’s not hard, it will only take a couple of weekends.

A couple weekends later, add some siding, staple chicken wire over all the walls with 1 million staples and install an awesomely clever door for easy access to the eggs every morning.  Also, if you plan on doing a project like this, keep in mind you may take pictures so don’t dress like a hobo every single weekend.  Just a thought.

Next, get 6 friends and an axle from a trailer to move your 1500 pound coop to the grass because you built it on the patio.  Lastly, add some hay, chickens, food and water and start collecting your eggs!

About The Neuzel Project

Neuzel is the combination of Neuman and Benzel. Now that Casey and I have been married for 3 years, we could probably be the Neuman Project, but I still love the time we were the Neuzels so it will remain.
This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Chicken Project

  1. Lisa Fitch says:

    This is so inspirational. Matt is going to be pissed at you. 😉

Leave a Reply

